Author Topic: What does "Free Float" mean????  (Read 1241 times)

Offline A-Blind-Nun

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Private
    • View Profile
What does "Free Float" mean????
« on: June 27, 2009, 03:30:43 PM »
I know I sound like a total noob asking this but does a free float RAS rail wobble or are they really sturdy because I think "free float" and I instantly think its not supported on the barrel so it must be wobbly. Please reply to this stupid question. :?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Has anyone on this site listened to Ace Troubleshooter? If you have PM me.

Every time you read this sentence you must pay me 5 dollars.     (pay up.)

Offline Raith

• Wait, what?
  • Global Moderator
  • Major General
    • View Profile
Re: What does "Free Float" mean????
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 06:20:26 PM »
Being wobbly shouldn't have anything to do with whether a rail is free floating or not.  Generally, what makes front ends (Particularly M4/M16 front ends) wobbly is the barrel nut not being tight.  Or, in some rarer occasions, the receiver threads and the barrel nut threads not being compatible.  That being said, I have seen far fewer problems with free float rail systems in terms of their wobbliness.

The solution to this problem is merely keeping everything correctly tightened and not using incompatible parts.
Live free or die: Death is not the worst of evils.

Offline RecoilEF

• Corporal
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2009, 02:06:50 PM »